New Toy – Jawbone UP

I’m sure you’re all aware of the not-so-new ‘wearable fitness technology’ craze that’s sweeping the nation. You’ve got your Fitbits and your Nike Fuel Bands and about a bazillion different apps help you track 10 ways ’til Tuesday.

One of the many players in the market is the Jawbone UP. Gill had been eying one for months, so I got him one for his birthday in mid-March. We both thought it was so cool he decided to get me one, too. Thanks, babe!  I’ve had mine for a total of five days and I’m totally addicted. I’m pretty sure it’s a good addiction, though.

So, what does the Jawbone UP do exactly? First of all, it tracks your steps, but it’s more than just a glorified pedometer. It also monitors your sleep, wake you up at the perfect moment, help you keep track of how much you’re eating, notify you when you haven’t moved in a while, track your mood and gives it all back to you in a bunch of easy-to-understand graphics. Plus, it’s hella motivating. I got more than 8 hours of sleep last night AND over 10,000 steps today! For the first time! Don’t you understand how awesome that is?!

You’re just going to have to take my word for it. Or try it for yourself. We can be friends in the app and try to kick each others butts at healthy motivate each other 🙂

photo4photo3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

photo1photo2

3 thoughts on “New Toy – Jawbone UP

  1. Hmmm…I may have to think about this. I tried to get Garreth the Fitbit for Valentine’s Day. He took it back for a bunch of DVD’s lol.

    • Did Garreth actually try it before he returned it? I can’t imagine using this thing and NOT being addicted to it. But maybe I’m just weird.

  2. Pingback: 14 in 2014 | New Girl in the New South

Leave a comment